Skip to main content Skip to navigation

The Australian Curriculum in Victoria

Welcome to AusVELS

AusVELS is the Foundation to Year 10 curriculum that provides a single, coherent and comprehensive set of prescribed content and common achievement standards, which schools use to plan student learning programs, assess student progress and report to parents.

AusVELS incorporates the Australian Curriculum learning areas for English, Mathematics, History and Science only, within the curriculum framework first developed for the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS). AusVELS also includes ‘Towards Foundation Level AusVELS’ (levels A to D) for students with disabilities.

Details of changes made to the AusVELS curriculum can be viewed on the curriculum version page.

Resources and Support

The VCAA website provides curriculum planning, teaching and assessment resources to support the transition to the Australian Curriculum in Victoria.

The AusVELS Curriculum Planning Resource provides support to school leaders to plan and document their teaching and learning program.


Victorian Curriculum F–10

AusVELS will be replaced by the Victorian Curriculum F10.

Schools can choose to use AusVELS or the Victorian Curriculum F–10 in 2016.

AusVELS will be archived in December 2016.

Scroll to the top of the page