Skip to main content Skip to navigation


Print this page


Each of the AusVELS domains is structured by eleven levels, Foundation to 10. Included in the AusVELS structure are ‘Towards Foundation Level AusVELS’ materials, which provides for the students with disabilities who may require it, curriculum content and standards that will enable them to move toward the learning described at Foundation level.

The eleven levels, Foundation to 10, are broadly associated with the years of schooling. These levels represent typical progress of students at key points within the stages of learning. It is recognised that students’ progress at individual rates and may demonstrate achievement at a particular level earlier or later than typical.

The eleven level structure reflects the use of eleven levels as a key feature of the design of the F–10 Australian Curriculum. While this marks a change from the previous six level structure of the VELS, this change should not be interpreted as a move back to a more fixed, less personalised set of teaching and learning principles. In fact, the intent of the change is to strengthen the use of curriculum design as a tool for personalised learning. 

Nominal school levelVELS LevelAusVELS Level
N/A Towards Level 1 of the VELS
Stages A to D (Students with Disabilities)
Towards Foundation Level AusVELS
Levels* A to D (Students with Disabilities)
Prep 1 Foundation
1 2 1
2 2
3 3 3
4 4
5 4 5
6 6
7 5 7
8 8
9 6 9
10 10

*‘Toward Foundation' material that is VELS-derived retains its nomenclature of 'stages'.

While the VELS encouraged flexibility across two levels, the AusVELS structure encourages teachers to go further and use the curriculum to appropriately target the learning level of each individual student in a class. This reflects the considerable body of research that shows that in any typical mixed ability class, students will demonstrate a range of abilities that spans approximately five school levels. The design of the curriculum as an eleven-point continuum of learning is intended to encourage schools and teachers to use the full continuum to more effectively monitor and provide feedback to students on their learning.

Scroll to the top of the page